Question: What Happens If I Delete Archived Emails?

Why does my iPhone archive instead of delete?

Go to Settings -> Mail, Contacts, Calendars and tap your Gmail account.

Tap Account -> Advanced to bring up more options.

Tap ‘Deleted Mailbox’ under the heading, Move discarded messages into; you’ll see that the default option is ‘Archive Mailbox’.

Tap Account and then Done to confirm the changes..

What happens if you archive a message?

Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person, while deleting a conversation permanently removes the message history from your inbox.

Does archiving emails free up space?

While most email services provide you with enough storage space, you may wish to archive your folders to free up additional space in your mailbox. Using Microsoft Outlook, you can automatically archive folder items that match your criteria, such as items older than three months.

What is the purpose of archiving?

Data archiving is the process of moving data that is no longer actively used to a separate storage device for long-term retention. Archive data consists of older data that remains important to the organization or must be retained for future reference or regulatory compliance reasons.

How do you delete all archived emails on iPhone?

How to delete emails on your iPhone, iPad, and iPod touchOpen Mail and go to your Inbox.Tap Edit in the upper-right corner, then tap Select All. Or individually select the emails that you want to delete.Tap Trash or Archive. If you only see Archive, touch and hold Archive to see other options like Trash Selected Messages.

Do archived emails get deleted?

Archiving email keeps the messages in an Archived folder, but Deleting moves them to the trash.

Do archived emails take up space in Gmail?

Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. Even messages in the trash and spam are counted. The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

Does Archive mean delete?

A. The Gmail app for Android gives its users two choices for discarding a new message: archive or delete. The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function.

What is the point of archiving emails?

The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.

Do archived emails take up space?

tl;dr Yes. An “archived” email has a different meaning from what is usually thought of as archiving. … Some people like to keep their Inbox as empty as possible and archiving email allows mail to be moved out of the Inbox without deleting it. There is a difference if you use Gmail on Android.

How do I change from archive to delete?

Choose your archive or delete settingsOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app .In the top left, tap Menu .Tap Settings General settings. Gmail default action.Tap Archive or Delete. … Scroll down to the “Action confirmations” section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages.

How long do emails stay in archive?

Until you decide to delete those emails. Note, though, that even after an email is deleted “forever,” either by you or automatically by Gmail from your spam or trash folders, the messages could remain on Google’s servers for up to 60 days.

How do I delete all archived messages?

Touch and hold each conversation that you want to archive or delete.Archive: To put the selected conversations into your archives, tap Archive. . … Mark all as read: Tap More. Mark all as read.Delete: To delete the selected conversations from Messages, tap Delete .

How do I delete archived emails?

See the archive icon when you view messages. Archive from interactive notifications (Android 4.1+)….To delete instead of archive, choose Show delete only.In the. Gmail app, touch the Menu icon, then Settings.Select General settings.Check Swipe to archive or Swipe to delete.

Should you delete or archive emails?

By default, most people delete rather than archive their email. If you ask someone why they delete email, they will most likely tell you that they delete them because they want to keep their email organized and reduce mailbox clutter. While this is a valid reason for deleting emails, it’s rarely the real reason.

Why do my archived emails disappear?

The AutoArchive feature in Outlook automatically sends old messages to the Archive folder, which can make it seem like those messages have disappeared to the unsuspecting user. … This will keep your emails from being archived unexpectedly or too often.

Why is archiving important?

Archives are important because they provide evidence of activities and tell us more about individuals and institutions. They tell stories. They also increase our sense of identity and understanding of cultures. They can even ensure justice.

How do you delete archived emails on iPhone?

Open the email message that you want to delete, and then tap and hold the “Archive” icon until a pop-up menu displays. Tap “Delete Message” to send the message to the Trash folder.

Where do emails go when you archive them?

In the Gmail app for iPhone, iPad, or Android, tap the Archive button in the top menu that appears. The Archive button has the same design as the button shown on the Gmail website. Any email you archive will disappear from your main Gmail inbox, including from any of the focused categories you might have.

What is difference between archive and delete?

Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox. A deleted message goes into the trash folder, whereas an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or “All Mail” on Gmail / Google Apps. … Your Archive folder is never automatically emptied.

Can I delete email sent?

In Mail, in the Navigation Pane, click Sent Items. Open the message that you want to recall and replace. On the Message tab, in the Actions group, click Other Actions, and then click Recall This Message. Click Delete unread copies and replace with a new message or Delete unread copies and replace with a new message.